Using AIDA to Reach Customers

The most important initial step in attracting customers is to understand who your customers are and what it is they want or need.  This is crucial to getting their attention, the first step of “AIDA” (Attention, Interest, Desire, Action) in marketing.  This is also called the hook.  I can think of one great example that still stands out from last year.  Subaru launched a marketing campaign called “They Lived” that was inspired by letters from car owners that survived crashes.  The commercial shows totaled Subarus with people saying “they lived”.  At the end, it shows a family, their target customer, loading into a Subaru that survived a car wreck, followed by the statement that Subaru has one of the highest safety ratings.  This is the link to the video for those interested, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itHm5xmmYDU.This was a great example of marketing that played to the emotions of their target audience, inspiring them to drive a Subaru.  Who wouldn’t want to protect their family with one of the safest cars on the road?

Pet Haven attracted me to bring my dogs to their dog grooming salon by being a safe, caring salon, where they treat each pet as an individual.  They always remember everyone’s name, and make a point to keep a detailed file on each pet to remember information about their personalities with each visit.  These traits appeal to the conscientious pet owner that is concerned for his or her pet’s safety and well-being. They could do a much better job of interacting with new and existing clients through social media to convey this message, as I know many people would recommend them on these sites.   They prefer to be contacted right know through email or telephone.  This leaves little opportunity for clients to make referrals or share their information with others.  They create interest in their specialty pet foods each time I go, explaining how their grain-free foods will help address my dogs’ skin problems.  This information that is specific for my dogs creates a desire for me to purchase the food.  They push me to action when they provide coupons and frequent buyer cards and ask for me to buy a bag of dog food with a money back guarantee if my dogs don’t like it. The basic bones of the AIDA model are being implemented at Pet Haven; however, it is just how the message is being communicated that needs improvement.  Most people in the community in which they are located are young families that don’t have time for emails or phone calls, they prefer Facebook, Twitter, and making appointments online.  It would be great if appointments could be scheduled online, or through Facebook messenger.

Prior to this course, I had not heard of the AIDA model, as I don’t really have a marketing background.  Lead generation, or creating interest in a product or service, can really apply to any job.  I often do scientific presentations to students, other healthcare providers, and patients.  In doing these presentations, it follows the same concept.  I must determine who my target customer or audience is, and hook them emotionally. Determine what they need or want, and explain how I can meet that need in my presentation and why they can’t live without what I am offering.  This general concept can be applied in many situations beyond sales.

Leave a comment